Saturday morning ramblings…

saturday morningBefore I begin, I want to say thank you to the hundreds of you that enjoyed last week’s post. I didn’t expect the outpouring of kind words, but it was appreciated. I have a wonderful life and I’m happy to have you as part of it.

That said, I wrote a ridiculously long follow up last night in response to Armstrong’s interview with Oprah Winfrey. If you’re following the story and are interested in my opinion, then enjoy, but I’m not going to be heartbroken to find out only a few people bothered to read it. I know everyone’s a bit weary of the whole thing. 

Next…

As most of you know, I officially ended my sabbatical on December 1st, 2012 and have been engrossed in the job hunt for around seven weeks now. You’ve probably heard people say that searching for a job is a job in itself. That’s true. I spend about four to five hours per day working on it. I’ve applied for almost 100 jobs, written three resumes, dozens of unique cover letters, built a website, developed a Twitter and LinkedIn account and had a helluva lot of fun. I’m serious. If this job paid I’d continue to do it.

I love reading job postings. You never know what someone is going to list as a required skill. I’ve enjoyed the process of building a Twitter following, though I’m only using that account for indoor cycling updates. Creating a website allowed me to put my career together in one place to serve as a virtual scrapbook of press clippings while using the networking features on LinkedIn is great fun.

The process takes a long time. I’m just now doing interviews for jobs I applied for in the first week of December, but that’s ok. I budgeted for this so you won’t see me working the drive-thru window at McDonald’s just yet. Plus, I’m starting to teach indoor cycling a bit more and that pays surprisingly well. I’ll continue to update the process as I go.

Next…

I’m finally getting around to watching The Wire and to those of you who said it was the best show you’d ever seen, I get it. In fact, it seems that almost every show in my Top 10 has come from HBO. I don’t even bother with their movies anymore; they do television better than anyone. If you have an opinion on why this is (or you disagree), please share. An aside: R.I.P. Robert Chew, (Proposition Joe) who died of an apparent heart attack on Thursday. He was 52.

Next…

Good luck to the St. Louis Blues, Carolina Hurricanes and the rest of the NHL players and front offices that kick off the 2013 hockey season tonight. Labor strife is hard not only on fans, but on a lot of people who just wanted to do their jobs. I’m not going to pretend that I’m a big hockey fan, nor will I admonish any fans who are staying away out of frustration right now, but January is an awfully cold and dull month and the return of the NHL is a good thing for a lot of people.

Finally…

Tomorrow my brother and his wife will celebrate 12 years of marriage. I do a crummy job when it comes to remembering birthdays and anniversaries, but this one always mattered to me. Not just because it produced two beautiful children that I love more than anything, but because through it all they do a great job of making their relationship work. People who know me know I’m a cynic when it comes to marriage but I am happy to watch them prove me wrong. Congratulations to Adam & Becky, my niece Maren, my nephew Ryan and their puppy, Miles.

Thanks for reading.

About Matt DeMargel

Public Relations Flack, Health-Conscious Cyclist, Personal Finance Nerd, Global Wanderer and slightly deranged fan of St. Louis and Mizzou Sports. I only write when I have something to say, but I talk constantly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

