Super Bowl Sunday and other musings…

Image

My Super Bowl party from 2009. This is our tribute to the early photos of people enjoying 3D as we watch the 3D halftime show.

I LOVE Super Bowl Sunday. I don’t bother with the week of hype on ESPN (I actually don’t watch ESPN at all anymore, but that’s another story) but it’s hard to beat a good Super Bowl party. The friends, the food, the commercials, the halftime show and the game…this is one of the best purely American events there is.

Even Animal Planet‘s Puppy Bowl is somehow worthy of national news coverage. I remember when we used to watch bottles of Anheuser-Busch products battle for gridiron supremacy and thought it was fantastic. Super Bowl Sunday can do no wrong, yet nothing done on New Year’s Eve is ever good enough. Go figure.

More on the Super Bowl…I realize that most of the people reading this are not Mizzou fans so I won’t go too crazy here, but the fact that San Francisco’s defensive studs, Justin and Aldon Smith, are both University of Missouri guys is a big, big deal. We aren’t Texas, Ohio State or Alabama and probably never will be. I don’t ever allow myself to dream of a national title. I root hard for my team just like those of you that root for the elite schools, only with lesser results.  We take our wins where we can get them and this is definitely a win for our program.  Mizzou fans around the world know what I mean when I say that Aldon Smith’s first sack dance on Sunday may elicit more smiles in Missouri than California.

If I were to start a television network, I’d call it SleepTV. It would feature programs you wouldn’t mind dozing off to because you could miss huge chunks of the action and not feel lost. I think this is the niche Nick at Nite is trying to fill.

Congratulations to those of you who stuck it out with your retirement funds since the stock market bottomed out in early, 2008. On Friday the Dow Jones Industrial average crossed 14,000, it’s highest point since October, 2007. It took almost five and a half years but you got your money back. Think about how different your life looked when the collapse happened. Mine is unrecognizable now.

Sorry to hear of the passing of Barney, the family pet of the George W. Bush household. I spend a good bit of my time these days hanging out with my roommate’s dog and she’s a wonderful pet. I can only imagine what a tremendous source of comfort that dog was for W. amid the daily beatings he took while in the White House. As someone who knows what it feels like to stink in front of 10,000 people at times, I can hardly fathom what it must have felt like to do it in front of billions.

On a lighter note, I’m happy to be back working with the folks at Habitat for Humanity of Durham on their cycling (and now running) events. I’ll be helping out with the marketing again, specifically as it applies to their hosting partner (and my former employer), the Durham Bulls. I’m a big fan of Habitat and a bigger fan of cycling, so this is a nice fit for me. I’m sure I’ll be writing a bit more as the year progresses and we get closer to the Bull Moon Ride & Run.

Finally, I want to give a little ink to my friend, Jake Fehling for his new podcast, Two Dads, One Mic, available now on iTunes. Jake is a fellow alum of the baseball public relations world who, along with his co-host Joey Powell, are spending 30 minutes a week talking about the lighthearted moments of fatherhood with a weekly guest that is both a father and a member of the Triangle sports community. Good luck, fellas.

About Matt DeMargel

Public Relations Flack, Health-Conscious Cyclist, Personal Finance Nerd, Global Wanderer and slightly deranged fan of St. Louis and Mizzou Sports. I only write when I have something to say, but I talk constantly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

