For Mom on Mother’s Day…something really ugly!

My beautiful mother, Kateri DeMargel

My beautiful mother, Kateri DeMargel

Greetings from Texas!

Misti’s family celebrated Mother’s Day yesterday with a fun get-together at her sister’s place. A great time with good people, plenty of food and lots of good cheer.

I’m 1,200 miles away from my mom, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t think about her. My “mom” moment came around the end of the festivities when it was time for dessert. Misti’s sister, Wendi, made something that had “heaven” in the title (well-deserved, by the way) and I volunteered for the responsibility of passing out the plated treat to eager recipients. 

When Wendi handed me the plate holding the one piece of dessert that had completely fallen apart I couldn’t help but look around the room for my mother to see if she was lunging for it. Mom made more delicious dinners and desserts than I could possibly remember, but I doubt she ever ate a perfect looking piece from any of them.

Never mind the fact that all of the pieces tasted equally terrific, Mom was going to take the ugliest looking piece.

Every time, without exception.

The older I get the more I think about the ugly piece. As children, we serve up a lot of ugly pieces to our mothers, many that DON’T taste very good, and they take them all willingly.

That’s the thing about moms. More than anyone in our lives, mothers embody the word, “sacrifice.”

They sacrifice their bodies to bring us into the world They sacrifice their sleep to keep us fed and secure. They sacrifice their sanity to keep us entertained and they sacrifice their nerves to worry about us through adolescence, teens, early adulthood, midlife…forever, I guess. Somehow they always find more to give.

As their children we couldn’t possibly pay them back and they would never expect us to. In return for their daily sacrifices,we give them a card, a phone call, maybe even a meal on Mother’s Day. It is a laughably bad trade, but like the ugly piece of food she graciously accepts, Mom will never complain.

Moms take great pride in being moms. The character displayed through motherhood goes mostly unnoticed, but is nevertheless critical in shaping us into the people we become. It’s undoubtedly the greatest gift we as children receive, though we might only give thanks for it one Sunday in May.

So on this Sunday, if you’re lucky enough to get to celebrate with your mom, offer her the best looking plate at the table. Don’t be surprised if she doesn’t take it, but it never hurts to try.

And it’s the least we can do for the person who always gave us the most.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.

I love you.

About Matt DeMargel

Public Relations Flack, Health-Conscious Cyclist, Personal Finance Nerd, Global Wanderer and slightly deranged fan of St. Louis and Mizzou Sports. I only write when I have something to say, but I talk constantly!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For Mom on Mother’s Day…something really ugly!

Leave a Reply

